How does the National Series work? 

The difference between National Series Races and the rest of the races on the Triathlon Ireland Event Calendar is that these races are the only ones where athletes can score points for themselves and their club.  The non-NS races on the calendar are there to be enjoyed by all but you will not gain points regardless of where you ranked in the event.


The 2021 National Series consists of 18 events made up of 10 Sprint, 6 Standard and 2 Middle Distance races.  These events are located all around Ireland and are some of the top events in the country. 

Sprint Distance: 750m swim, 20km cycle, 5km run

Standard Distance: 1.5km swim, 40km cycle, 10km run

Middle Distance: 1.9km swim, 90km cycle, 21.1km run


For an athlete to complete the NS they must complete a total of 4 races in a season, of which 1 must be sprint distance and 1 must be standard distance. Rankings are determined by the total points scored over the athletes best 4 races.  There is separate ranking for male and female athletes and over the different age categories.


National Series events are also used for scoring points towards the age-group Club Championships, with the top 6 male and female points determining the overall ranking for the club.


The number of points earned is calculated by the following rule: The triathlete who is at the 30th percentile of all TI members in a race (say 60th out of 200) will be allocated 100 points. The scores for all other times are calculated by reference to the 30th percentile.  One day licence holders are excluded from the calculations.


See below for a breakdown of the National Series Races 2021.

For a list of all the Triathlon Ireland Approved races click on the following link:


National Series Race Calendar 2020 - FTC Tips


Web Design by WDI

© Fingal Triathlon Club